Search
 

Chaetomium

Chaetomium
  

The Chaetomium species belong to the class Ascomycetes. The imperfect form (axesual) belongs to the class Deuteromycetes (Botryotrichum). This endophyte fungus contains about one hundred cellulolytic species.


The colonies are downy, rapid-growing, and gray to olive-green. The ostiolate perithecia are large, dark brown to black, and are lined with simple or branched hairs which are straight, wavy or more or less spiral. These perithecia contain cylindrical or claviform asci, emitting 4 to 8 unicellular, black, smooth ascospores that are globular, ovoid or elliptical. The optimum growth temperature for Chaetomium is 50 °C and the spores can withstand a maximum temperature of 60 °C.


The Chaetomium species are cosmopolitan, ubiquitous, and very common in the environment. They can be plant pathogens and are involved in various human infections caused by the production of mycotoxins (chaetomin, chaetoglobosin, sterigmatocystin). They are of interest for the industrial production of cellulase and protein.

List of species

Recherche Mots Clés
 

Chaetomium

Chaetomium
  

Les Chaetomium appartiennent  à la classe des Ascomycètes. La forme imparfaite (axesuée) appartient à la classe des deutéromycètes (Botryotrichum). Ce champignon endophyte comprend une centaine d’espèces cellulolytiques.

Les colonies, duveteuses, à croissance rapide, sont de couleur grise à vert-olive. Les périthèces ostiolés, sont de taille importante, brun foncés à noirs et sont garnis de poils simples ou ramifiés, raides, ondulés ou plus ou moins spiralés. Ces périthèces contiennent des asques cylindriques ou claviformes émettant 4 à 8 ascospores unicellulaires, noires, lisses, globuleuses, ovoïdes ou elliptiques. L’optimum de croissance de Chaetomium est de 50 °C et les spores peuvent résister à une température de 60 °C.
 
Les Chaetomium sont cosmopolites et ubiquitaires, très commun dans l'environnement. Ils peuvent être phytopathogènes et sont impliqués dans diverses infections humaines, provoquées par la production de mycotoxines (chaetomine, chaetoglobosines, stérigmatocystine). Ils présentent un intérêt industriel par leur production de cellulase et de protéines.

Liste des espèces