Search
 

Aspergillus

Aspergillus
  

Aspergilli are imperfect filamentous fungi belonging to the class Deuteromycetes. Some perfect forms (sexual) are known and belong to the class Ascomycetes (Emericella, Eurotium, Neosartorya, etc). About 200 species of Aspergillus are known, of which twenty are involved in human pathologies (A. carbonarius, A. flavus, A. fumigatus, A. ochraceus, A. parasiticus, etc.).

The colonies are powdery or downy, grow rapidly, and usually display various bright colors. The hyaline thallus has a compartmentalized mycelium bearing numerous erect conidiophores with a typical vesicular extremity called the "head of Aspergillus". The globular conidia, usually 2 to 3 μm in size, are produced from the phialides that are grouped at the top or all around the vesicles, with or without intermediate metula.

The Aspergilli are cosmopolitan. They are ubiquitous saprophytic molds (decomposing organic matter, soil, dust, compost, food, cereals ...). They are omnipresent in the human environment. Each head of Aspergillus is capable of producing up to 104 spores. The Aspergillus produce many mycotoxins (kojic acid, neoaspergillin acid, aflatoxins, griseofulvin, ochratoxin, sterigmatocystin, etc.) and are involved in many relatively severe diseases grouped under the term "aspergillosis".

Aspergilli are widely used in the food, chemical and biotechnological industries.

List of species

Recherche Mots Clés
 

Aspergillus

Aspergillus
  
Les Aspergillus sont des champignons filamenteux imparfaits appartenant à la classe des Deutéromycètes. Quelques formes parfaites (sexuées) sont connues et appartiennent à la classe des Ascomycètes (Emericella, Eurotium, Neosartorya, etc). On connait près de 200 espèces d’Aspergillus, dont une vingtaine est impliquée dans des pathologies humaines (A. carbonarius, A. flavusA. fumigatus, A. ochraceus, A. parasiticus, etc.).
 
Les colonies, duveteuses ou poudreuses, à croissance rapide, sont généralement de couleurs vives et très variées. Le thalle hyalin, présente un mycélium cloisonné portant de nombreux conidiophores dressés avec une extrémité vésiculaire de forme très spécifique « la tête aspergillaire ». Les conidies généralement rondes de 2 à 3 μm , sont produites à partir des phialides, groupées sur le sommet ou sur la totalité de la vésicule, avec ou sans métules comme éléments intermédiaires.
 
Les Aspergillus sont cosmopolites. Ce sont des moisissures saprophytes et ubiquitaires (matière organique en décomposition, sol, poussière, compost,  denrées alimentaires, céréales, …). Ils sont omniprésents dans l'environnement humain. Chaque tête aspergillaire est capable de produire jusqu’à 104 spores. Les Aspergillus produisent de nombreuses mycotoxines (acide kojique, acide neoaspergilline, aflatoxines, griséofulvine, ochratoxine, stérigmatocystine, etc.) et sont impliqués dans de nombreuses pathologies relativement graves regroupées sous le terme d’aspergilloses.
 
Les Aspergillus sont très utilisés dans l'industrie agro-alimentaire, chimique et des biotechnologies.

Liste des espèces