Search
 

Alternaria

Alternaria
  

The Alternaria species are imperfect filamentous fungi belonging to the class Deuteromycetes. Some perfect forms (sexual) are known and belong to the class Ascomycetess (Clathrospora, Leptosphaeria, Lewi, Pleospora). 44 species are known, but certainly close to one hundred species exist.

Their velvety colonies are usually gray to black. The dark and septate conidiophores produce several chains of straight or branched conidia at the ends. Initially ovoid, the multicellular conidia, which are divided by characteristic transversal, longitudinal or oblique septa, take the form of a club with a well-differentiated apical rostrum upon aging.

The Alternarias are cosmopolitan. These ubiquitous fungi are phytopathogenic in a number of plant species, causing crop diseases which are classified under the group "Alternariose". They can be found on different substrates such as senescent plants, vegetables, soil, food and various organic materials. The Alternarias are also known to be potent allergens, triggering seasonal reactions during the summer months. However, not all species are pathogenic or undesirable: some of them are used as biological agents to control invasive plants.

List of species

Recherche Mots Clés
 

Alternaria

Alternaria
  

Les Alternaria sont des champignons filamenteux imparfaits appartenant à la classe des Deutéromycètes. Quelques formes parfaites (sexuées) sont connues et appartiennent à la classe des Ascomycètes (Clathrospora, Leptosphaeria, Lewia, Pleospora). On connaît 44 espèces mais il y en a certainement près d’une centaine.

Les colonies veloutées sont généralement de couleur grise à noire. Les conidiophores foncés et septés produisent à leurs extrémités, des chaînes de conidies simples ou ramifiées. Au départ, ovoïdes, les conidies pluricellulaires, divisées par des septas transversaux, longitudinaux ou obliques tout à fait caractéristiques, prennent la forme d’une massue en vieillissant avec un rostre apical bien différencié.  
 
Les Alternaria sont cosmopolites. Ce sont des champignons ubiquitaires avec un certain nombre d’espèces phytopathogènes, provoquant sur les plantes cultivées des maladies regroupées sous le terme d’alternariose. On peut les retrouver sur différents substrats tels que les plantes sénescentes, les légumes, le sol, les produits alimentaires et sur divers matériaux organiques. Les Alternaria sont également connus pour être de puissants allergènes, déclenchant des réactions saisonnières durant les mois d'été.
 
Toutes les espèces ne sont pas pathogènes ni indésirables, certaines sont utilisées comme agents biologiques pour contrôler les plantes invasives.

Liste des espèces